The Relationship

IMG_20161023_162159DSC_0059

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I did not go to college expecting to find my husband there.  In fact, if you would have told me that I would be married at 21, I would have thought you were insane.  The biggest plan I had was to try to spend my 21st birthday at Disneyland.

Then I had an American History class my freshman year with a very good looking guy who wore tank tops and his arms were very distracting.  Somehow, he was everything I never knew I wanted.  On my first date with him, I felt like I never wanted to spend any time without him.  We had to spend time apart as I got accepted to the Disney College Program and spent nine months there… But that was it.  When I got back, we moved in together, we got engaged four months later, got married six months after that, and now we live in Florida with 4 dogs!

Now, I have been a vegetarian since we met.  He has always been an omnivore. I became a vegan last year, he’s still an omnivore.  I want to live a more “zero waste” lifestyle, he has no idea what that movement is but is on board with producing less trash and recycling more.  He also eats a lot more fruits and vegetables than he ever did before!  I don’t plan on trying to change him, because I love him.  Would I love for him to at least be vegetarian?  Of course!  But I think it’s a decision you have to make for yourself in order to stick with it.

So, here’s the start of our new adventure together.  We’re in Florida, we want to buy a house in the next 12-18 months, we want to start a family next year, and I think part of the way to budget to do that is for me to adjust to a better plant based diet and for us to live a more zero waste lifestyle.  Here goes nothing!

Leave a Reply

